Frustration

Posted on Updated on

If you’re vegan or even vegetarian, you’ve heard it all before. The snide little comments and jokes that friends and family who eat meat make. To them it’s no big deal and the fact that the majority of the population is on their side makes them feel comfortable and at ease in their ill-sided humor.

Recently a friend posted a meme poking fun at vegans and their “fake food” and other comments include judging people for their choice to eat meat.  Most people I would just shrug it off and say “whatevs” but it gets under my skin when it’s a long time friend. I shouldn’t have to explain why I’m vegan. I shouldn’t have to explain why other people should be too. I shouldn’t have to explain WHY slaughtering millions of animals every day is not only cruel but illogical.

But every day I’m asked to justify my choices. I don’t mind being laughed at or poked fun at because that’s minuscule compared to what the animals face everyday. What I do mind is people making jokes about the flesh of a being who was born into this world and suffered immensely and was killed without being shown love and care.

Even writing this my eyes are getting teary because the callousness of the majority of the population eats away at my heart.

I don’t want to shoot down people who aren’t educated or informed about the cruelties inherent in consuming the flesh, milk and secretions of living sentient beings. BUT when people are informed and they just turn a blind eye I’m left to wonder whatever happened in their life to leave them so cold?

I usually restrain myself from commenting on people’s memes. The anxiety that comes with arguing with people on the Internet isn’t worth it. The hand-shaking, heart-racing anxiety that leaves me a heap of nerves and rarely changes their mind.

It’s hard when you recognize meat as the flesh of a dead animal who wanted to live. It’s so damn hard to hear people joking about it or casually consuming it while they laugh and carry on with their day. Sometimes walking past the meat section in a grocery store is enough to send me fleeing out the entrance.

Sometimes I just want to shake people or make them all sit down and watch Earthlings. If they’re going to joke about something as horrifying as the meat industry they should have to bear witness to the atrocities. I just want people to wake UP and realize that it’s not right. What we’re doing is so very very wrong and the easiest way to do something about it is to stop contributing to it.

“I realize that animals will continue to suffer and die—but not because of me.”

a very underused quote by Eddie Lama

Instead of explaining why I’m vegan I’m just going to share some pictures of the amazing animals I’ve met rescued from the horrible cruel animal agriculture industry and if you haven’t transitioned yet I hope they spark compassion in you. They’re lives have value. 

“If you have the choice to do less harm, but you choose to cause harm anyway, it’s your job to ask yourself why, and it’s your job to come up with an answer. No amount of changing the subject will make that question go away.” 

11260717_959148307484773_4865137935225990814_n

DSCN4743

DSCN4671

IMG_5581

11904674_960701453996125_3408390170918646558_n

IMG_5833

IMG_5669

DSCN4731

IMG_5978

IMG_5701

IMG_6264

Shouldn’t it be enough just to know that our choices are causing harm? Shouldn’t that be enough for us to want to change? And if it’s not then we should be asking ourselves why.

2 thoughts on “Frustration

    Be Sol-Ful Living said:
    December 12, 2015 at 5:19 am

    Oh, Sarah! This post really hit home for me. Last weekend, while my brother was visiting (he’s a meat eater) family got together for dinner and I had to leave the room due to some awful comments. I really can’t tolerate the jokes and I’m so exhausted hearing the same ignorant remarks. It’s sad that our compassion and awareness is looked upon as “crazy” or “extreme” – and why is our lifestyle so easily made fun of?! I am so sorry that your friend did that – breaks my heart when people who are supposed to be our friends, join in on the attacks. You’re not alone, remember that! ❤

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      February 26, 2016 at 7:50 pm

      Yes! It can be really frustrating when it’s those closest to us. It just shows how twisted our society is when a lifestyle based off kindness and compassion is viewed as “extreme.” I definitely have a support system now which helps a lot!

Leave a Reply

