Tropical Green Smoothie Recipe

Posted on

You know those mornings when you’re so tired that you have to drag yourself out of bed? When you’re eyelids are heavy and you’d be more than happy to curl up and sleep for a few more hours? That was this morning. But I had work to do before class so I dragged myself out of bed, washed my face, and went into the kitchen to make an energizing green smoothie.

I used to go straight to the coffee maker, pouring caffeine straight into my system in the morning, but lately I’ve noticed that when I start my day with coffee the possibility that my anxiety will be higher later in the day increases. Maybe there’s a correlation? Maybe there’s not? And I still partake in my fair share of caffeine (especially during finals week) but I just don’t start my day with it.

This morning I pulled out a bundle of kale, because it’s on special at Whole Food this week and my blender.

DSCN1911

Tropical Green Smoothie

4 large leafs of Kale with tough stems removed

1/2 cup frozen strawberries

1/2 fresh mango

1 frozen banana

1 tbsp Hemp Seeds

1 cup Coconut Milk Unsweetened

Blend until smooth! Top with coconut flakes for an extra twist.

DSCN1903

It’s a fresh and sweet way to start the day and get your greens in! The Hemp adds protein and makes it even creamier. Green smoothies are my favorite lately and I alternate between spinach and kale.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

