My Favorite Vegan Cruelty-Free Beauty Products from Whole Foods Market

Posted on

Since Whole Foods has their 25% off sale on beauty products coming up this weekend I’m going to be sharing a few of my favorite cosmetics/beauty products they carry!

I’ve gotten a lot pickier about what I use on my skin lately because so many cosmetics carry harmful ingredients and chemicals that I don’t really want anywhere near my skin. Plus so many companies still continue to test on animals, which is cruel and unnecessary. Honestly, if a poor animal needs my makeup tested on it before I can use it then I probably don’t want that product anywhere near my skin.  That can make it tougher to just go out and grab a new mascara or eyeliner when I need it. Luckily my local Whole Foods, Santa Cruz location, carries plenty of organic, high-quality, vegan and cruelty-free products.

DSCN1829


Zuzu Eyeliner

I’ll start with the eyeliner. I’m not a huge makeup person, but my essentials are eyeliner and mascara! Zuzu eyeliner is great because it glides on easily and you can get a nice bold line easily without having to go over it several times. It’s also suitable for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers, which is great because I happen to wear contact lenses. The Black Pearl shade is my current favorite. It’s a nice bold black and doesn’t smudge easily like most eyeliners! It’s also water resistant which is always great just in case. It’s also fragrance free which is a concern of mine because I’m a little sensitive to fragrances.

DSCN1836

They are also NPA certified natural which means they only use 100% natural ingredients like plant oils, extracts from the sea, botanicals and never any harsh ingredients, or artificial preservatives, fragrances or colors. It’s also paraben and phthalates free.

DSCN1839


Pacifica Devocean Natural Lipstick & Enlightened Gloss Lip Shine

I really like this Lipstick and Lip Shine because they add just a little bit of color to my lips, yet still appear neutral and Natural. The lipstick on it’s own is a great matte color, but with the lip shine it adds that bit of shimmer that takes it to the next level. These two lip products go great together or on their own.

DSCN1842

DSCN1845

I love Pacifica as a company as well. All of their products I’ve absolutely loved. Especially their perfumes because it’s hard to find a company that doesn’t use synthetic fragrances and phthalates. They are all 100% vegan, cruelty-free, and formulated without carmine, talc, FD&C color, paragons, and petroleum. A portion of Pacifica’s proceeds also go to Support Clean Water, so a company with a conscience!

DSCN1847


Mineral Fusion Mascara

Mascara is one of my favorite makeup products. I always have one on hand. I really like a mascara that can make my lashes look long and full without clumping. Mineral Fusion Graphite Lengthening Mascara is a great product, because its Hypo-allergenic, cruelty free and free of parabens, talc, artificial colors, synthetic fragrances, SLS, and phthalates. The company is also committed to sustainability and utilizing wind power, soy inks, packaging from recycled materials and packaging that is recyclable. I love companies that focus on leaving a smaller carbon footprint.

DSCN1848


Acure Shampoo and Conditioner

These hair care products were new to me, but as someone with normal to fine hair I’m always looking for something that will increase my hairs shine and volume. This set pictured is the Pure Mint + Echinacea Stem Cell shampoo and conditioner. It’s made with Quinoa protein + Babassu Oil  and it’s focused on intense volume, which is perfect if you’re someone like me whose hair naturally has very little volume. I don’t die my hair, but if you do they are color safe! They are also sulfate free, paragon free, phthalate free, and of course vegan! The scent in them comes from essential oils, making for a great natural scent.

DSCN1854

DSCN1852


Pacifica Nail Polish

I almost gave up on nail polish when I switched to using more natural beauty products. As a teenager I was constantly painting my nails, at least once or twice a week, and the heavy fumes of nail polish and nail polish remover still stick with me. It’s also somewhat difficult to find vegan nail polishes that don’t contain any coloring from insects. Luckily Pacifica has a beautiful line of polishes in several colors.

DSCN1832

These two are my current favorites! Amethyst Castle and 1972 Pool Party. They glide on smoothly and don’t get clumped up like other nail polishes once opened. They both create a thick shiny coating which does’t chip easily. Especially when paired with their clear top coat polish. I currently have the Amethyst Castle on and love it!

DSCN1887

DSCN1892

So those are my current favorite beauty products! If you see anything that catches your eye check out Whole Foods this weekend for a 25% discount. I highly recommend all of these products and always make sure to buy cruelty free!

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Vegan Cruelty-Free Beauty Products from Whole Foods Market

    Be Sol-Ful said:
    May 12, 2015 at 9:05 pm

    Great post, friend! I LOVE that lip gloss and I’m currently in the market for a new mascara, so I’ll have to keep this in mind. Like you, the only makeup I wear is the occasional mascara and lip color. I adore those nail polish colors, too! Yay for cruelty-free products! ❤

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      May 12, 2015 at 9:23 pm

      I really love how long and full the mascara makes my eyelashes look. The nail polish is lovely! I used to be a nail polish junkie in high school (I had a case full of every color and glittery version haha). These are a little more sophisticated. I’d rather not use any face makeup, mostly because I don’t like spending that much time on it and don’t like feeling caked in makeup.

Leave a Reply

