Things That Make Me Smile

Posted on

Lately I’ve noticed myself getting frustrated a lot. I get into arguments on Facebook with people over issues I take very seriously. I end up exhausted and stressed out, because I feel like I have to make the world a better place. I feel an obligation to share what i know about ways to be more environmentally friendly, more compassionate etc. 

However these are the issues important to ME in this moment in my life. I have to remember they aren’t the issues most important to everyone else at this moment in their life and just because I feel they should be doesn’t mean they will be. If that makes sense? 

I can only do what’s best for me and live my life in a way that makes me happy.  Does that mean i’ll stop sharing links and photos on FB? Probably not. But I will probably stop arguing with people over their opinions on what I share. If someone is truly interested in knowing more about a topic then of course I’ll be happy to have a conversation! But I’m not going to respond to attempts to invalidate me and frustrate me. 

So lately I’ve been looking for simple things that cheer me up. Pictures or videos that instantly make me smile and forget the intensely irritating conversations I’ve just had. Here’s a few I wanted to share with you that will hopefully brighten your day as well. 

A Bucket Of Sloths for your viewing pleasure. Seriously animal videos are the cure all to a bad mood 🙂 At least for me. 

22 Photos that prove Elephants Make the World  A Better Place (Do you need more of an explanation than that?

enhanced-28873-1403906015-22

http://www.buzzfeed.com/chelseamarshall/photos-that-prove-elephants-make-the-world-a-better-place?bffb#3w6lo3q

Old Family Pictures: (because sometimes I like to remember that my brother and I were best friends) 

10516648_730166730382933_8561926602005253539_n200478_146348828764729_4678046_n200478_146348835431395_7181979_nWe were interesting children. 

This heart melting slideshow of Animal Families 

da915a8011dcfb5975d97964baceb966

http://www.dose.com/lists/3099/23-Photos-Of-Animals-And-Their-Parents-That-Will-Melt-Your-Heart-The-Otters-Are-TOO-MUCH

My cat: Fig (AKA secretly my favorite even though we aren’t allowed to have favorites) Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So find those little things that brighten your day and look at them at least once every day! It’s important! Feel joy every day.

 

One thought on “Things That Make Me Smile

    Veganoso said:
    October 10, 2014 at 1:00 am

    The hardest part of being vegan is knowing the truth about animal agriculture and the health benefits of veganism. We want to share that knowledge but most people are held under the disconnect of carnism. It’s so incredibly frustrating, but the truth is on our side 👍👏😃

Leave a Reply

