Date Sweetened Banana Bread (Low sugar)

Posted on

Whenever we go to the grocery store bananas are on our list. My brother is a water polo player and smoothies and protein shakes are frequent in our house. Bananas are already a staple in my diet, but when the two of us are under the same roof we consume a LOT of bananas. So as soon as we get to Trader Joe’s I make a beeline for the bananas and fill a bag with about 15 bananas. (That will easily be gone by our next trip πŸ™‚ )

However sometimes we manage to have a few that get brown and soft before we can eat them and everybody knows that means banana bread!

When I was struggling more with my disordered eating baking was an obsession for me, but I would never eat what I made, because honestly eating something I didn’t have an exact calorie count for was anxiety causing. I’m glad to say that gradually I’ve made myself comfortable eating what I make again and I think my baking has also improved. If I think about it the food I make myself is usually healthy and wholesome and a lot less processed than what I would buy at the store. Plus I know exactly what goes into it and can adapt it to my taste.

I decided to play around with making a banana bread sweetened with only dates and a little coconut sugar for a healthier version and the result was awesome. I’ve made it twice since the original batch.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Banana Bread (low sugar)

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup spelt flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

2 tbsp coconut sugar

3 very ripe large bananas

6 large finely chopped dates

1/3 cup coconut oil melted

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

Optional 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

IMG_1986

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 375. Lightly grease loaf pan with coconut oil.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and set aside.
  3. Mix oil, sugar, dates, and vanilla. Add in dry ingredients and mix well. Then add bananas mashing into batter. (add walnuts here if using)
  4. Pour batter into loaf pan and bake for about 45 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool for a few minutes before slicing.
  5. Store in airtight container once completely cooled.

IMG_1993

Hope you enjoy! It’s great lightly toasted for breakfast with some peanut butter or coconut oil spread on top.

 

 

Leave a Reply

