Tumeric Spiced Hummus Recipe

Posted on Updated on

So I’m almost a month into my summer vacation and I’ve got to say it’s so nice to be home. It’s nice not having assignments/reading for class to do. It’s nice being home with family and friends. And it’s so nice to have access to a full kitchen!

My mom and I have been cooking and baking a lot this summer and having so much fun working our way through some cookbooks! ImageImageI usually don’t buy cookbooks because it’s SO easy to find recipes online and I’ve gotten fairly good at improvising when it comes to cooking. However I’ve been following Angela’s Blog Oh She Glows for years and so when her cookbook came out I just had to have it. She’s one of the first bloggers I followed when I got into the vegan lifestyle.

Isa’s recipes are all so simple and delicious and great for my omnivore friends!

This morning I made Angela’s Glo Bars as well as her Marinated Mushrooms.

ImageImageImageThese were fairly simple and they actually stayed together! I’ve made granola bars in the past but they just crumble, so I was so happy these worked out. I’m going to send a couple to work with my dad.

The mushrooms were also easy! ImageImageImageThey’re now marinating in the fridge and I can’t wait to try them. I was one of those kids that hated mushrooms, but in the last few years I’ve come to love them! I always keep them on hand and throw them in any dish I can. Maybe my tastebuds have changed a bit since my diet changed, but mushrooms are awesome and a nutritional powerhouse.

I also recently made Tumeric Spiced Hummus on a whim. Hummus is a serious staple for me. I’ve been known to eat a spoonful straight from the container. Haha!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Tumeric Spiced Hummus

2 cans chickpeas with liquid reserved

1/3 cup tahini

1 tsp tumeric

1 tbsp minced garlic

1 tsp hot sauce

1/2 tsp sea salt

1-2 tbsp lemon juice

Steps

1) Combine all ingredients, using 1/4 cup of reserved liquid, in a food processor and mix until well combined. If the mixture is too thick add a little more reserved liquid.

2) Store in airtight container in fridge for up to 10 days.

My favorite ways to eat hummus lately have been with veggiesImage

On toast and with crackers! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Tumeric Spiced Hummus Recipe

    Manny Rutinel said:
    July 2, 2014 at 2:32 am

    Awesome post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I just started my own vegan/political blog, so feel free to check it out and let me know what you think!
    http://MannyRutinel.com

    Have a great day! 😀

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      July 2, 2014 at 5:40 pm

      Awesome! I will definitely check it out! Thanks for following 🙂

Leave a Reply

