Berkeley Adventures

Posted on

Yesterday my mom picked me up from school to head home for my little brother’s 18th birthday! (ok so maybe he’s not so little anymore, but he’ll always be my little brother)

Image

Picture from 1998

We headed to Berkeley with the plan of picking up some vegan cinnamon rolls from Cinnaholic. They’ve been on my list of places to go for a couple years and so I was super excited, but before we headed there we stopped and got lunch at Herbivore: Earthly Grill. Another vegan restaurant on my must-go list. 

Their menu was overwhelming! So many choices! My mom and I probably took at least 20 minutes to finally decide on what we wanted to order. Since it was a Sunday they were serving brunch until 2 so I ended up going with a brunch item despite they’re outrageously delicious sounding lunch/dinner menu. (check out the menu here: http://www.herbivorerestaurant.com/Main_menu.pdf

We also shared their ginger ale made with fresh ginger, raw agave, lemon and lime juice and sparkling water! Yum! The fresh ginger gave it a nice spice and the agave balanced it out without being too sweet. 

I ordered their Southwestern Tofu Scramble (admittedly after eyeing a few neighboring tables who ordered the same thing). ImageTofu Scramble, Chipotle salsa, Guac, House Potatoes, Black Beans and sour cream (they use Daiya products). 

It was phenomenal. The Guac was awesome and had large chunks of avocado. The potatoes were amazing! Slightly spicy with a toasty deliciousness. The salsa and tofu scramble were both excellent and packed with flavor. 

It also came with vegan blueberry cornbread. ImageYup. So good. It was a surprisingly delicious addition. I need this recipe. 

After we left with full stomachs we agreed that we definitely need to come back and try more of their extensive menu. I wish there was one in Santa Cruz. Insanely good, approachable vegan food. 

Then it was time to stop by Cinnaholic! 

ImageImageThere were so many flavors of icing and toppings I was overwhelmed. It was SO hard to pick! Thankfully the cashier was super helpful and suggested good/ popular combos. Since my brother is a huge Oreo fan we got him a traditional vanilla with oreo topping. And since it was his birthday another one with pb frosting and brownie chunk toppings, and a roll with banana frosting and blueberries. 

I went for a almond frosting and raspberries combo. ImageImageI don’t find many vegan baked goods near me so I was excited. 

However, in all honesty I still battle disordered thoughts. I think I put way more thought into eating this cinnamon roll than most people put into eating foods. i kept feeling the need to justify eating an unhealthy treat. Vegan or not. But I pushed those thoughts aside and fully enjoyed it as breakfast with my family this morning. 

Worth every bite. These seriously live up to the hype. Gooey and warm. Sweet but not too sweet. The almond raspberry combo was delicious! 

When I go back in the future I want to try one with blackberry frosting. Sounds so good! 

As you can tell my brother also enjoyed his: ImageAnd no he didn’t eat all 3 at once. Haha! 

Even though he’s reluctant to admit enjoying vegan foods (yup. he’s “one of those” lol) he did love it. 

We also got the chance to visit the Republic of V (new all vegan grocery store in Berkeley, CA) and Lush Cosmetics. ImageImageImage

These were some of my vegan goodies I picked up on our day adventures. I’m finally trying out a dry shampoo bar from Lush after hearing great things! I also picked up some charity pot lotion, which feels amazing on my skin. It makes my skin super soft and smooth and feels awesome. It also smells great without fragrances and artificial ingredients. I picked up some tahini on sale at Republic of V and superfood fudge spread after sampling it at the store. So good! I’m thinking it will be delicious with some fresh fruit. Image

 

I also picked up a new Hurraw chapstick (I love their chapstick)! The grapefruit smells awesome. I already love it! And a very cute vegan pin to add to my backpack pin collection. ImageIt was an awesome day! I definitely see another Berkeley trip in the near future! 

 

5 thoughts on “Berkeley Adventures

    organicanddelicious said:
    May 29, 2014 at 6:32 pm

    So awesome! I just went to Herbivore this weekend too! I love it! I’ve been there like 3 times and every time i go it is soooo good! Cinnaholic has been on my to do list for so long! Looks amazing! =) looks like you found some great finds too!

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      June 4, 2014 at 11:09 pm

      Oh yes! I can’t wait to go back to Herbivore. Everything sounded so good! DO you have any recommendations for favorites dishes? And yes Cinnaholic lives up to the hype!

        organicanddelicious said:
        June 5, 2014 at 7:17 am

        So far, I’ve had the breakfast southwestern tofu scramble, vegetable green juice, the quinoa salad, the ravioli, the Philly cheesesteak and a breakfast combo plate with tofu scramble, 1 pancake or French toast and potatoes! They were all amazing! My favorite was the raviolis and the quinoa salad with a green juice!

        sarmclaughlin responded:
        June 5, 2014 at 8:24 am

        Awesome! I’ll definitely check out those next time I go. The pancakes sounded awesome!

        sarmclaughlin responded:
        May 3, 2015 at 8:57 pm

        Just wanted to let you know I finally made it back and had pancakes with the grilled bananas! So good! Thanks for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

