Smoothie Loving

Posted on Updated on

Last week was hot! Think in the 90’s. One day it even got up to 99! And it just happened to be the day I had my Fundamentals of Play lecture out on a basketball court…Way too hot for that!

However one of the good things about hot weather is cold smoothies and “nice cream”! Almost everyday after hiking back to my apartment from class (yes hiking, the Santa Cruz hills are no joke πŸ˜‰ ) I broke out the blender and enjoyed a bowl of “nice cream.”

“Nice cream” is essentially frozen fruit blended with very little liquid at the consistency of ice crewm. So thick you have to eat it with a spoon. Yum!

Since strawberries have been in season and absolutely delicious the last few weeks, Strawberry banana “nice cream” has been a staple.

ImageThough my blender at school doesn’t get quite the same thickness as our Vitamix at home it’s still absolutely delicious.

Strawberry banana “nice cream”

  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (just enough to get it blended)

And Blam! Easy Delicious frozen treat to cool down on a very hot day.

However it’s also fun to add mix-in’s like cocoa powder, peanut butter, or protein powder for extra sustenance.

ImageThis mix was cocoa berry banana protein “nice cream”

Cocoa Berry Protein “nice cream”

  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 small frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 serving Vega Viva Vanilla protein
  • 1 date
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (again just enough to get it blended)

Loved this mix! The date was for a little extra sweetness, but adds a caramely taste. The Vega protein gave it some staying powder and the cocoa powder added a nice depth to it’s flavor.

Of course I’ve also been enjoying some lovely smoothies when I want something closer to a drink. Smoothie bowls are a perfect breakfast on hot days where I don’t want to cook.

Image

Purple Monster Smoothie

  • 1 small frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen blackberries and blueberries
  • 1/2 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 cup baby kale
  • 1 date
  • 2 tbsp Powdered peanut flour
  • 1 serving VegaΒ natural protein
  • 1 cup almond milk

I topped it with banana slices and Lydia’s Organics Raw Vanilla Cereal. I loved the mix of flavors in this smoothie and the peanut butter taste provided by the peanut flour. You can’t taste the kale at all! Frozen banana hides greens in smoothies very well and I love throwing in spinach or kale to my smoothies for a punch of greens early in my day.

If you struggle with getting enough greens in your diet this is an easy way to include them! Vega is also my favorite vegan protein. It blends well, does’t have a chalky taste, and boasts an impressive list of nutrients.

And finally my take on the traditional strawberry banana smoothie!

Image

Pb&JΒ Banana Protein Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 a frozen banana
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp Powdered peanut flour
  • 1 serving Vega Bodacious Berry Protein
  • 1 tbsp hemp hearts
  • 1 date
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds

This smoothie is packed with plant based protein, omegas, and fiber. I absolutely love this flavor of Vega Berry protein. It goes well in almost any smoothie mix! The Vega Protein has 15 g of protein at 90 calories and contains 2 servings of veggies.

The weather has cooled down considerably this week – about a 20 degree difference!

However, I can see many more smoothies over the course of this summer. I’ll be sure to share my favorites with you!

Just adding chia seeds and hemp hearts to a smoothie can make them much more filling and keep you full a lot longer. They also provide protein, fiber, and omegas. They’re both staples in my kitchen that I use in many of my recipes.

Hope you enjoy and get blending! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Smoothie Loving

    organicanddelicious said:
    May 29, 2014 at 6:35 pm

    Love banana ice cream! Its so amazing! i used to make it with my Vitamix but now i make it with my Omega juicer, which can make it too and it comes out like soft serve! =)

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      June 4, 2014 at 11:10 pm

      It’s so good after coming back from class all sweaty from the walk. It’s too cold today for “nice cream” but maybe soon again!

Leave a Reply

