Spring/ Summer Time Recipes

Posted on Updated on

I’m not sure what the weather is like where all of you are, but here in Santa Cruz it’s really warming up. I usually get back to my apartment after class sweaty from the walk. The weather is bouncing back and forth, cloudy and windy 60 degree weather one day and hot 88 degree weather the next. (global warming!) So my meals have definitely been switching towards cooler foods like smoothies, salads, lots of fruit, and fresh juices.

One of my favorite smoothies lately has been my “Green” Vegan Reese’s Smoothie. Chocolate, peanut butter, and a dose of greens? I’m sold! Image

The Recipe:

1 loose cup spinach

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tbsp peanut butter

1 date

1 frozen banana

a few ice cubes

Blend everything well and enjoy!

It’s a super delicious snack or light breakfast and definitely cures my chocolate peanut butter cravings in a healthy way.

Image

My other go to warm weather food is grain salads! It’s a yummy, filling, light meal with endless variations. My favorite traditional grain based salad is Tabbouleh, typically made with bulgur, parsley, tomatoes, and lemon and olive oil. However I also love making it with couscous! I was inspired by Isa Does It’s Tabbouleh of the Sea I made for Easter and have been adapting it and switching it up in the past few weeks.

I also love her handy cooking tip for couscous! You simply bring the water to a boil. Pour in your couscous and remove from heat. Let the pot sit covered for 10-15 minutes and Tada! Perfectly fluffy couscous that doesn’t require being cooked on the stove.

Here’s my current favorite Tabbouleh mixture:

1 cup cooked couscous

1 cup finely chopped parsley

1/2 cup chopped fresh tomatoes

1/2 cup chopped cucumber

1/2 cup chickpeas

1/2 fresh sweet corn

2 tbsp chopped sun-dried tomatoes

2 tbsp capers

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

Salt and pepper to season

Toss all ingredients, seasoning with salt and pepper to taste. Chill salad and enjoy! Makes about 4 servings. ImageIt’s so good and fresh. It also makes an excellent packed lunch to take throughout the week.

I’ve definitely been taking advantage of the summer weather lately. Sitting in the sun, reading for my classes, and walking to classes. The sunshine makes everything more enjoyable. Hopefully your all getting out there and taking advantage of the great weather too!

Image(The view from the campus press center)

Image

(View from the recreation field)

Leave a Reply

