Green Smoothie loving and Health Warrior Review

Posted on

Lately the weather has been warming up and that can only mean one thing! Smoothies are returning to my life. 🙂

I love smoothies. Any kind whether fruity and sweet, or green and nutritious, I love sipping on something packed with fresh produce and nutrition. It’s also an easy grab and go breakfast when I have an early class. 

This morning I whipped up a green smoothie with the new Vega Protein blend I’m trying: Viva Vanilla . I’ve always been a fan of Vega’s products. Their vegan nutritional protein is packed with nutrients, omegas, and probiotics plus it tastes great! I’ve had my fair share of chalky, awful tasting protein powders in my lifetime, but Vega has an awesome flavor and texture. It blends nicely and the flavors I’ve tried have all been great.

Though I don’t feel the need to include protein powders as a necessary part of my diet, I do love that they help keep me satisfied and provide me with lots of energy on busy days. Plus a great tasting one can really add a great flavor to smoothies. 

This morning’s blend was nice and simple: 

Image 1 serving Vega Viva Vanilla, 1 cup almond milk, 1 frozen banana, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 date, 1 tsp hemp hearts, 1 cup loose spinach, and 1 large ice cube. 

If you’re new to green smoothies I find that spinach blends easiest and the flavor is easily hidden. Frozen bananas also hide the leafy greens well! It’s a great way to pack some greens into your day and it tastes great. Green smoothies always energize me for the day and make me feel great. 

Another thing that has been providing me with energy and making me feel great lately is Health Warrior Chia Bars. They are small 100 calorie bars (except the coconut is 110) that provide 1000 mg Omega 3’s, 4 grams of fiber, 4 grams of protein, and only 5 grams of sugar. They are all vegan, gluten free, non-GMO, and their organically grown Chia Seeds have 100% traceability from Farm to Package. 

Chia seeds are known as a “runner’s food” known to be used by ancient tribes for endurance and long distance travels and runs. They can absorb up to 10x their weight in water helping keep individuals hydrated.

ImageI was super excited to receive this wonderful package from Health Warrior with an awesome t-shirt that I have been happily wearing all over campus and Santa Cruz. ImageI love showing people great vegan foods that help energize busy, active lives and Health Warrior’s products do just that. 

Image

Deciding which flavor to sample first was tough! They all sounded delicious!

ImageI went for the Banana Nut flavor as a quick pick me up before a light workout at the gym. It held me over after class and through my workout until I got home to eat dinner. The flavor was awesome and I love the seedy texture the chia seeds give to the bar! ImageNext I sampled the coconut bar as a study snack! It helped me power through my 4 page essay. I love the shreds of coconut in the bar and this was definitely one of my favorites. I am a huge coconut fan and if you love coconut then you will love this bar! 

ImageOf course the coffee was also a hit. I had tried this bar by Health Warrior before and so I knew I was a fan. The coffee taste is balanced and smooth and not at all overpowering. It’s also a way to get a little coffee fix without the jitters 😉 

ImageThe Apple Cinnamon was also one of my favorites! I love the chunks of dried apple in it and I could eat these all day. The apple cinnamon all disappeared rather quickly. This also turned into a study snack.ImageThe acai berry was a perfect post workout pick me up. It has delicious berries in it that pair nicely with the chia seeds. It’s lightly tart and lightly sweet. Definitely a hit. 

Somehow my photos of the chocolate peanut butter bar went missing, but I also enjoyed those. I had tried their chocolate peanut butter in the past and just wasn’t generally a fan compared to other flavors. However, they have updated their flavor and I can definitely tell! While I still wouldn’t declare them my favorite flavor they did make for a tasty and satisfying snack. 

I love how satisfying these bars are for being a relatively small snack bar. 

They may be small, but they are very nutritionally dense. Perfect for individuals with busy lives! And easy to keep in a purse or bag. My three favorites were the Banana Nut, Apple Cinnamon, and Acai Berry. 

Image(my lame attempt to look sporty after a quick workout) 

Check out Health Warrior if your looking for a healthy, delicious, and relatively low calorie snack to fuel your busy life! Many are extremely allergy friendly. 

Become Powered by Chia and see how great it can make you feel. From their website: “It’s way more than just a bar–it’s nutrition, satisfaction, and energy that lasts all day.” 

And it really does! Can’t wait to order more! They have also recently added a mango and dark chocolate cherry flavor to their line. 

 

Leave a Reply

