A Very Vegan Easter and Family Catch Up

Posted on Updated on

Happy easter all! If you’re celebrating I hope you had a wonderful day with family and fun eats. if you don’t celebrate I hope you had a great day too!

Easter has always been so much fun for my family. My parents loved to get creative with hiding places for egg hunts and I remember some epic confetti egg fights. Always fun!

ImageMy brother and I circa 2000. I was about 6 years old and he was about 4, hunting for plastic eggs in the backyard.

This was my first Easter as a vegan and naturally there were many things to adapt to my lifestyle. With my recent purchase of the Isa Does It cookbook I was looking to impress my non-veg family with some awesome vegan dishes and dessert. Image(I had some fun flipping through and doing some snacking when it first came in the mail.)

My mom and I stayed up until 2 am the night before Easter putting together gift baskets for our younger cousins and cleaning the house for Easter. My dad and brother had tackled the backyard and were already conked out.

We got about 5 hours of sleep and then were up and at ’em to get ready for the family to come over. We kicked off Easter morning with a nice breakfast and tried out Isa Does It’s Mediterranean tofu scramble. Image It smelled delicious when I was mixing it up and was confident it would be tasty. Kalamata olives, roasted red peppers, tofu, noosh, basil, and spices. ImageIt was super tasty and simple! I will definitely be making again. ImageIt was also so nice to be eating breakfast with the family again.

After breakfast everything went into a whirlwind of baking, cooking, and cleaning, as we had about 3 hours until everyone arrived.

First up I began to work on the Chocolate Zucchini Bundt Cake with Dark chocolate Ganache from Isa’s cookbook.

ImageA KitchenAid mixer makes everything easier. (As you can tell from the splatters the kitchen was a bit crazy today.)

Image

This recipe was super simple as it only took one bowl and all the ingredients are pretty basic. I poured the batter into a greased bundt pan and popped in the oven. The finished product with the super simple 3 ingredient ganache:

Image

The cake was super moist and delicious and the ganache was made particularly delicious with Lindt 85% dark chocolate.

Next up I whipped up Isa’s Chai Spice Snickerdoodles!

ImageLook at that batter! 🙂

ImageImageThese were definitely a winner! I can see these being made time and time again. So soft moist and the chai flavor is spot on. The recipe is pretty much full proof. Buying the cookbook is worth it for this one recipe.

So those were my contributions to the dessert table. For a lunch dish I decided to take the easy way out and make a grain salad. Isa’s Tabouleh of the Sea ALSO turned out great! ImageThis would be super easy to whip up and have on hand during a busy week. Plus anything with capers is a winner in my book.

Other Easter dishes:

ImageImageMy dad made a fantastic vegan potato salad with fresh herbs from our garden.

ImageHe also had fun creating homemade vegan pesto in our mortar and pestle (or as my dad pronounces it PESLE) for the grilled asparagus. Image

 

It was a fantastic spread and made for a great (colorful) lunch with family! Image

 

It was so much fun hiding plastic eggs for the cousins to find and watching them search. Reminded me of my excitement on Easter morning growing up.

Image

Image

Whether you celebrate Easter or not I hope you had a wonderful day full of good food and company. Also check out Isa’s cookbook. Stock full of awesome, easy recipes! Everything I’ve made so far has been delicious and easy!

 

Leave a Reply

