Spring Break Snapshots

Posted on Updated on

One week ago I was just finishing my last final and packing to head home and now here I am back at my apartment. Back at UCSC. Spring break flew by! It was so nice to be home. There’s just something about home that is inherently relaxing and comforting.

My Spring Break was filled with lots of animal friends: ImageImageImageImageWhich makes being home even more fun. They all kept me pretty entertained since everyone else had to work or was still in school.

I also really enjoy cleaning. Weird? Maybe but I love the feeling of a clean house and the feeling of accomplishment after getting some household chores done. So while, I was home during the day I kept myself busy with odd jobs around the house.

My brother, who is a senior in high school, just started his swim season and I always make him a ton of pancakes when I’m home and freeze them for him. He loves them and got to feed that swimmer appetite! So that was on the agenda.

I also got to see him swim his first swim meet of the season in the brand new pool at our high school. I ran into a few of my old high school teachers so it was nice to see them too! The meet was almost cancelled due to thunder storms, but luckily with some patience they passed. Image

He took first in two of his races and second in the third! They were also short on timers so I got to be in charge of lane 6. Pretty cool!

Lots of eating out this week due to running errands with the parents and my brother’s school schedule. It reminded me how lucky I am to be vegan in Santa Cruz! It is not easy to eat out as a vegan in my home town. Had my orders messed up a few times, but they were gracious in fixing it. I mostly had to work around the menu, taking out the cheese, meat, dairy and adding in some vegan options like avocado. It’s do-able, but definitely not as fun as having tons of options like at school. ImageImagePanera has a pretty good vegan black bean soup and they will add avocado to a salad to make it a little more nutrient dense, however afterwards I looked at the bill and they charged us $2 just to add avocado! It was maybe half an avocado IF that. I pay that much for a whole one at the store. Oh well. It was good.

Boudin bread Company also has a pretty good veggie sandwich easily made vegan by removing the cheese and sun-dried tomato spread:

Image

We also went out to see Divergent (I loved the books!) over spring break and it was great! They did a good job sticking to the book and being true to the story. I’m glad they didn’t play up the love angle too much and make it cheesy.  Most of the actors don’t fit the picture of the character I had in my head, but that is often the case in movie adaptions. Can’t wait for the next one!

I also got some baking in.

Image

Vegan Banana Nut bread! Inspired by Isa Chandra http://www.theppk.com/2007/10/banana-bread/

I basically followed her recipe, but switched up the ingredients a little!

Ingredients (my adaption)

3/4 cup coconut sugar
3 tbsp Earth Balance soy free
3 very ripe bananas, mashed well
2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup organic soy milk, mixed with 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray a 8×4 bread pan with non stick cooking spray.

Sift together flour, baking soda, salt and spices.

Cream together the Earth Balance and sugar. Add bananas, soy milk and vanilla.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry. Mix well , add walnuts. Pour batter into pan. Bake for an hour to an hour 10 minutes.

ImageImagePopped a slice in the toaster for a warm, toasty delicious treat! So good and simple!

Then after a much too fast moving week, I packed up my suitcase and bags and took the train back to school at 6:40 am. ImageHere’s to a new quarter, hopefully better than the last. Looking forward to lots of sunshiny days and study sashes at the beach.

Leave a Reply

