Snapshots

Posted on

Well it’s finals week, which means late nights, lots of sitting and staring at a computer screen, and study snacks. To top it all off the weather is absolutely beautiful outside, though I’m sure if I go outside with the intention of studying I’ll spend more time sunbathing than actually memorizing literary terms. 😉

So instead I’m focusing on the fact that in a week I can relax and be outside as much as I want. ImageMy “it’s beautiful outside but it’s finals week” face.  

Finals week always kind of feels like a blur, it’s intense when your in the middle of it, but once it’s over I’m not exactly sure what happened. 

Usually for me finals week consists of lots of coffee, but since I’m off coffee right now (it makes my anxiety act up) I went for a lessened form of caffeine in the form of the Macachino drink from Suja Elements: ImageIt was delicious and the fact that I had a coupon for it made it even better. 

Most of my study snacks lately have consisted of kale chips: ImageImageand a little Emmy’s Organics raw vegan macaroons. ImageThis is their mint chip and they are absolutely fantastic. Soft, full of coconut, and amazing flavor! A healthier vegan treat. Also gluten free! 

And popcorn! ImageThough I did start my morning off with a short walk around campus to get the blood flowing and to make up for my very sedentary life at the moment. ImageIt’s also just refreshing to see that’s there life outside the walls of my apartment. 😉

Finally since it is a stressful time right now I’m trying to keep this mindset: ImageBecause it’s true. I can only do my best and it’s not worth it to stress about the rest. The fact that I’m here studying and working hard is enough. I can’t worry about what I can’t control. Remember to love yourself.

 

“At this very moment, you may be saying to yourself that you have any number of admirable qualities. You are a loyal friend, a caring person, someone who is smart, dependable, fun to be around. That’s wonderful, and I’m happy for you, but let me ask you this: are you being any of those things to yourself?”
-Phillip C. McGraw

6 thoughts on “Snapshots

    coconutandberries said:
    March 17, 2014 at 9:57 am

    Sounds like you’ve got a great attitude to it all and aren’t letting stress get to you 🙂 So do you have finals every year of your degree then? I only had one mega set of exams at the end of my 4 year course and those 2 weeks of exams were all that counted!

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      March 17, 2014 at 4:54 pm

      Trying to! Yes we do after every quarter we have final exams for all of our courses we took that quarter. At the end of our degree we write our senior thesis and that’s like the mega end all.

        coconutandberries said:
        March 17, 2014 at 5:24 pm

        Ah, I see. I’ll be doing my dissertation this summer (for my Masters) which I guess is a bit like your thesis.

        sarmclaughlin responded:
        March 17, 2014 at 6:26 pm

        I think so! I’ve heard dissertation used before to describe it!

    Kendall Blenkarn said:
    March 17, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    It’s also March madness for me at UBC! Paper writing can be so overwhelming! Balancing it out with healthy food and exercise always helps me get through it 🙂 Walks outside are a must! Sometimes its hard to accept that all you can do is your best, i’ve learn that “stressing only makes you more stressed”, that literally if you stress, you are just adding more stress to something that could be a lot less anxiety inducing! It’s helped me with school a lot- good luck!

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      March 17, 2014 at 4:56 pm

      I agree! My first year at UCSC I would stress so much over finals and hardly sleep, but I’m balancing it out a lot better this year. I’ve gained some perspective 🙂 and yes i start to go a little crazy if I sit for hours on end.

Leave a Reply

