Loving lately

Posted on

When I woke up this morning I lay in bed for a few minutes before making myself get up. I didn’t have class until the early afternoon and the morning stretched out before me. Then I realized: Hey! I’m in Santa Cruz. I can hop on a bus and be at the beach in 10 minutes. So I ate breakfast, took a shower, grabbed my backpack and caught a bus. 

As I got off the bus I could already here the waves crashing into the shore and the sound of seagulls. The temperature was creeping up into the mid-60’s and I knew it was just going to be another beautiful Santa Cruz day! The last few days have been absolutely beautiful. The kind of beautiful where you feel guilty if you stay indoors. 

Image

I read for my lit class for awhile, soaking in some much needed Vitamin D (you don’t get much sun in the redwood trees) and then head across the street to pick up a bite for lunch from the Picnic Basket, a really cute little organic sidewalk cafe. 

I ended up going for their grain salad with red quinoa, arugula, blood oranges, beets, and pickled carrots and opted to eat on the beach. 

Image

Image

 

The last few weeks I’ve been working on doing what makes me happy. Taking the little extra effort to head off campus and soak in some of Santa Cruz’s natural beauty never fails to lift my spirits. Sometimes I get so caught up in trying to do what’s expected of me or what I should be doing, and forget to do things for my soul as well, and there is nothing more calming or uplifting than looking out at the ocean. 

I’m doing an Instagram photo project called 100 Days of Happy where each day you post a picture of what makes you happy that day! It’s a great practice and way to remember to take a moment and concentrate on happiness no matter what’s going on in your day.

I also watched this little guy navigating the waves…

ImageWhen I got back to campus and finished classes I had my mind set on roasting up the kabocha squash I picked up at the farmer’s market. I’m in love with this squash. The flavor is amazing and I just can’t get enough, which is why I love when it comes in season at the farmer’s market. 

I usually just chop it up, toss it with some pepper and whatever other spices come to mind (this time being red pepper flakes) and a bit of coconut oil and roast at 350 for about 40 minutes or until easily pierced with a fork. Image

Roasted squash perfection. Maybe it’s weird but I love dipping it in organic honey mustard. 😉

This squash did not last long at all. It quickly disappeared. Very Quickly. 

If you’ve never had kabocha squash try it now! It’s delicious. You won’t be disappointed. It also makes a great curry. 

 

Leave a Reply

