Saturdays in Santa Cruz+ Coconut, Almond, Pistachio Granola Recipe

Posted on Updated on

Every other Saturday morning I get up early, grab breakfast and rush out to the bus stop to make my way downtown. I spend my Saturday mornings volunteering at the Downtown library with the Tails to Tales program. It’s a really sweet program where kids read to service dogs and promotes literacy. A lot of kids may not feel comfortable reading to adults or other children, so this provides an opportunity for them to practice and enhance their skills in a nonjudgmental environment

Overall it’s just a wonderful way to begin my weekend and get out of the apartment nice and early! This Saturday after I finished volunteering I ran some errands around downtown and then begin to feel the hunger bug striking and was craving a nice big salad with lots of fixings. Of course Cafe Gratitude could fix that!

Image

And since it was so sunny I ordered it to go and enjoyed it at a table outside!

Image

Their I am Fulfilled salad loaded with beets, carrots, avocado, almond parmesan, and teriyaki almonds with a raw carrot flax cracker and goji chipotle dressing! With a small carrot, pear, ginger juice. I love that they source local and organic ingredients and everything is vegan!

The day was simply too nice to waste so before I headed home I decided to take a nice long walk out along Westcliff Drive. My favorite view in Santa Cruz! Plus it’s always fun to watch the surfers on these really sunny breezy days!

Image

Today the water was full of surfers and Westcliff Drive was populated with bikers and dog walkers 🙂

Image

I got about an hour of reading in before I walked back to catch a bus up to campus. It was wonderful to soak in some sun and watch the ocean waves. I’m committing myself to going out here at least once a week for the rest of the school year. I have this beautiful view at my fingertips! Why waste it?

Now on to the granola! I LOVE whipping up a batch of homemade granola to have on hand during the week. it’s super simple and fun to experiment with whatever I have on hand! This week I made Coconut, Almond, Pistachio Granola

  • 1 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup almond and pistachios
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp hemp hearts
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup agave or pure maple syrup Image

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Then add in oil, almond butter, and sweetener of choice and mix well!

Pour onto a baking sheet (I use silicone baking sheets when I make granola, but parchment paper would work!)

Image

Bake for between 12-20 minutes checking about every 5 minutes and stirring on pan until golden brown! Allow to cool completely before moving into a storage container. ImageImage

Great on top of non dairy yogurt, sprinkled on top of smoothies, or even eaten with some almond milk and fresh fruit! Or straight out of the container as I often do

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Saturdays in Santa Cruz+ Coconut, Almond, Pistachio Granola Recipe

    Brie said:
    March 11, 2014 at 12:45 am

    Hey I follow you on Instagram, I’m bumbblebee1218, I was wondering if you’ve ever heard of Mountain Rise granola?

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      March 11, 2014 at 3:53 am

      Hi! No I haven’t, but would love to check them out!

    Brie said:
    March 11, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    Their company is based in Upstate New York I believe (I haven’t read the back of the bag in a little while lol) but I’ve only been able to find their products at the Wegmans in my hometown of Wilkes-Barre, PA, and not even in any of the Whole Foods in Philly where I go to school. They’re a nut-free company which is really great because my younger brother has a peanut allergy so my mom never wants any peanut-containing products in the house. Anyway, it comes in 5 flavors: Original, Chunky Cocoa, Spice of Life, a Vegan flavor, and a Banana flavor that is also vegan. The vegan one isn’t really flavored anything but it’s AMAZING and I can’t get enough of it. Every time I come home from school I buy like 2 or 3 bags of it because I can’t get it in Philly anywhere and I never feel like ordering any from the company’s website. The Banana one is also to die for, but they came out with that one relatively recently. I really love their granola because it’s in big chunks so it’s super-easy to eat right out of the bag without making a big mess (which is what I usually do, I could eat a whole bag of this stuff in a day if I’m not careful), since with other granola if I want to snack on it I usually eat it with a spoon so I don’t crumb everywhere hahaha

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      March 12, 2014 at 1:56 am

      Yes! I checked them out! It looks like several of their flavors are vegan. I might just have to order some! Sounds delicious!

        Brie said:
        March 12, 2014 at 8:35 pm

        If you order some let me know what you think of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

