A little bit about me…

Posted on Updated on

Hi! My name is Sarah McLaughlin. I’m a sophomore at the University of California Santa Cruz working towards a Literature major.Image I’m an enthusiastic plant based foodie with a passion for organic, local, and hand crafted foods. I love living in the redwoods, smelling the moist forest ground, and being surrounded with giant ancient trees that have seen more time in this world than any of us ever will.Image

A few years ago I discovered the world of online food and health blogs. I discovered a love for cooking and experimenting with new, healthier, plant-based recipes and most of all learned how to intertwine my love for animal and human rights with my diet and lifestyle.

However the onslaught of information from the online community can be overwhelming especially for a young adult like myself. I took every health tip and recommendation to heart, which was a lot of information constantly weighing on my mind. This combined with a desire to be the healthiest person I could be led to an unhealthy relationship with food and exercise. I struggled with this obsession and sometimes still do, but this is why I’m committed to making a blog that celebrates food, health, and all of the amazing things our bodies do for us.

Sometimes we have to struggle to discover the beauty that was always all around us. Whether that may be in a deliciously rich square of raw chocolate, or the feeling of our heart pumping in our chest on a hike through the redwoods, or even in the moment of a shared laugh with a friend; it’s important to recognize these little moments and celebrate them. Image

I hope this blog can become a space to share my favorite recipes, small businesses that I love and support, and most importantly a space to share feelings and thoughts about the world we live in.

6 thoughts on “A little bit about me…

    DessertForTwo said:
    March 4, 2014 at 2:58 am

    Welcome to blogging! 🙂

      Sarah responded:
      March 4, 2014 at 8:14 am

      Thank you! I’m excited!

    Health Room said:
    March 4, 2014 at 10:59 pm

    Great post sarah, looking forward to hearing more from you! 🙂

      sarmclaughlin responded:
      March 4, 2014 at 11:00 pm

      Thanks! Hoping to post again later today 🙂

    Abraham Lopez said:
    March 5, 2014 at 5:53 am

    Just wanting to leave some support for you Sarah as thanks for helping me find something good for the mornings to eat. 🙂

    coconutandberries said:
    March 5, 2014 at 11:28 pm

    Nice to see you blogging Sarah! I’m an ig follower 🙂 Look forward to reading.

Leave a Reply

